Showing posts with label windows support. Show all posts
Showing posts with label windows support. Show all posts

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Fix 16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem Error Massage

This addition you get further information to troubleshoot error "16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem" error message when you run an MS-DOS or 16-Bit Windows program in Windows Server 2003 or Windows 2000 Server"

If you try to run an MS-DOS-based or a 16-bit Windows-based command on a Microsoft Windows Server 2003-based or a Microsoft Windows 2000 Server-based computer, you may receive one of the following error messages:

16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to start or install
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.


16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\autoexec.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.


This issue can occur if any one of the following files are missing, damaged, or not located in the %systemroot%\System32 folder:

Autoexec.nt
Command.com
Config.nt

This post provide step by step Computer repair and troubleshooting tips to fix this issue

Follow the Steps

1. Insert the Windows Server 2003 CD or the Windows 2000 Server CD into the CD drive.
2. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
3. Type the following commands, and press ENTER after each command:
expand D:\i386\config.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\config.nt

expand D:\i386\autoexec.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\autoexec.nt

expand D:\i386\command.co_ %systemroot%\system32\command.com

exit
Note The description of this procedure assumes that your CD drive letter is D. If your CD drive letter is not D, substitute the correct drive letter.
4. Start or install the program. If the issue is resolved, do not complete the remaining steps. If the issue is not resolved, go to the next step.
5. Start Notepad, and then type the following commands.

Note The Command.com file is not edited or created in the following process. Because of this, you may have to expand the file from your CD-ROM. See step 16 for instructions on how to do this.

dos=high, umb
device=%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\himem.sys
files=40

6. On the File menu, click Save As.
7. In the File Name box, type Config.nt, and then click Save. Close the Config.nt file.
8. On the File menu, click New.
9. In the new blank document, type the following entries.

@echo off
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\mscdexnt.exe
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\redir
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\dosx
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3

10. On the File menu, click Save As.
11. In the File Name box, type Autoexec.nt, and then click Save. Close the Autoexec.nt file.
12. Start Windows Explorer. Locate the Config.nt file, right-click the Config.nt file, and then click Copy.
13. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
14. Locate the Autoexec.nt file, right-click the Autoexec.nt file, and then click Copy.
15. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
16. Expand the Command.com file from the Windows Server 2003 or the Windows 2000 Server CD-ROM. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
2.

expand cd-rom:\i386\command.co_ drive_letter:\system_root\system32\command.com

exit

17. Verify the existence of the folder to which the TEMP and TMP user environment variables are mapped. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl in the Open box, and then click OK.
2. In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab, and then click Environment Variables.
3. In the User variables for UserName section, locate the TEMP and TMP variables. They are listed in the Variable column.
4. For the TEMP and TMP variables, note the corresponding folder that is listed in the Value column.
5. Start Windows Explorer. To do this, click Start, click Run, type explorer in the Open box, and then click OK.
6. Locate the folder that is specified for the TEMP and TMP variables. Make sure that this folder exists.

Note To locate the folder, you may have to turn on the feature that shows hidden files and folders. To do this, follow these steps:
1. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
2. Under Hidden files and folders, click Show hidden files and folders, and then click OK.
18. Restart your computer.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Rasdiag.exe Support Tool in Windows XP

This post descrive how to use Rasdiag.exe Support Tool in Windows XP.The Remote Access Service Diagnostics Tool (Rasdiag.exe) collects diagnostic information about remote support services and places that information in a file. Administrators can use this tool to work with Microsoft Product Support Services to troubleshoot remote connection issues by taking a snapshot of the configuration data and capturing an attempted remote connection.

To start Rasdiag, click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then press ENTER. At the command prompt, type rasdiag.exe, and then press ENTER. Rasdiag.exe uses the following command-line switches.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Parameter-------------------Description
-r (ipaddr)-------------------Enable remote sniff.
-t ---------------------------Enable remote routing table collection (requires -r).
(Filename.rdg)--------------Extract Rasdiag file (for example: rasdiag.exe sample.rdg).
/?---------------------------Display Help.
-?---------------------------Display Help.

When you run Rasdiag, you see the following information:

Preparing WindowsXP for RAS diagnostics.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RASDIAG - RAS Diagnostic/Troubleshooting Tool
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


INSTRUCTIONS

1) At this time, please reproduce the problem you are seeing.
2) Once the problem has been reproduced, please return to this console
and press the space bar.
3) Wait for diagnostics and data collection process to complete. This
process will be complete the RASDIAG folder has opened on your
desktop. In this folder, you will find an .RDG file.
4) Please provide this .RDG file to your support contact.

NOTE: The netmon driver is actively capturing on this machine's
WAN and LAN interfaces. If you are able to successfully make a
connection, and the problem you are seeing is related to network-layer
connectivity, please perform the data-related action at this time
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STATUS: Waiting for you to REPRO and press the space bar in this console

After this is displayed, reproduce the issue you want to capture information about (for example, start a dial-up connection and log on to a server). After the action is completed, make the command prompt window the active window and press SPACEBAR. Pressing SPACEBAR causes Rasdiag to stop capturing information and write it to a compressed file with a .rdg extension. The name of the file is the date and time it was created. You can then send this file to your support contact.

This file contains a Network Monitor capture (.cap) and Rasdiag.txt file. To extract the files, type rasdiag filename.rdg. The contents of the compressed file are extracted in the same folder.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

How to delete the Recovery Console

This post provide technical support for remove recovery console from your computer.

To delete the Recovery Console:

1. Restart your computer, click Start, click My Computer, and then double-click the hard disk where you installed the Recovery Console.
2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
3. Click Show hidden files and folders, click to clear the Hide protected operating system files check box, and then click OK.
4. At the root folder, delete the Cmdcons folder and the Cmldr file.
5. At the root folder, right-click the Boot.ini file, and then click Properties.
6. Click to clear the Read-only check box, and then click OK.

Warning: Modifying the Boot.ini file incorrectly may prevent your computer from restarting. Make sure that you delete only the entry for the Recovery Console. Also, change the attribute for the Boot.ini file back to a read-only state after you finish this procedure. Open the Boot.ini file in Microsoft Windows Notepad, and remove the entry for the Recovery Console. It looks similar to this:
C:\cmdcons\bootsect.dat="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
7. Save the file and close it.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Printer driver problem or printer settings problem

This section provide further information about When you try to print in the Access 2003 environment, you may receive a fatal system error or you may notice printing problems. If these problems occur, use the Generic/Text Only printer driver. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
2. In Control Panel, double-click Printers.
3. In Printers, double-click Add Printer.

Follow the instructions in the Add Printer Wizard to install the Generic/Text Only printer driver. Try to print from Access 2003 by using the Generic/Text Only printer driver.

Note If the printing problems exist for Generic/Text Only printer driver in addition to another printer driver, the problem is likely not printer-driver specific. However, if the printing problems are corrected by using a different printer driver, to reinstall the problem printer driver, follow these steps:

1. Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
2. In Control Panel, double-click Printers.
3. Right-click the printer that you want to remove, and then click Delete.
4. Click Yes if you are prompted to remove all the files that are associated with the printer.
5. Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
6. In Control Panel, double-click Printers.
7. In Printers, double-click Add Printer.

Follow the instructions in the Add Printer Wizard to install the original printer driver.

Note If you reinstall the printer driver and the reinstallation does not solve the printing problems, you can use a different printer driver or the Generic/Text Only printer driver again. You must also contact the printer-driver manufacturer to report the problem and to find out if an updated printer driver is available.

Related Search:
Fix XP Memory Dump File Error
How to Use Virtual Hard Disks as Real Hard Disks in Windows 7
Avail computer help 24x7
Fix Disk fragmentation or disk errors
Microsoft support Center

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

How to fix error messages when you install, upgrade, or use an application

In this post you can get technical support for solve the issue When you install, upgrade, or use an application, you may receive various error messages that indicate that access was denied. For example, you may experience one of the following symptoms:

* After you install an application in a folder other than the %programfiles% folder, you receive "access denied" error messages. Additionally, the application does not function as expected.
* You receive application error messages that resemble the following:
Cannot create folder under C:\MyApp\Temp
Cannot create file under C:\MyApp\Temp\output.dat
* You receive error messages that resemble the following:
Error Writing to MyFile.exe

This issue may occur when you perform any of the following actions:
  • You create links in virtualized locations.
  • You use the Encrypting File System (EFS) to encrypt files.
  • You try to view compressed files.
  • You use the command prompt to copy an .exe, .sys, or .dll file into a virtualizable location.
* Parts of the application that require file input or output no longer work correctly.

To resolve his issue use the following steps given below.
1. Click Start button

, type eventvwr in the Start Search box, and then click eventvwr.exe in the Programs list.

User Account Control permission
If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, type your password, or click Continue.
2. Expand Applications and Services Logs, expand Microsoft, expand Windows, expand UacFileVirtualization, and then select Operational. If the event ID is 5000, a FileCreateVirtualExclude event has occurred.

To resolve this issue, use one of the following methods:

* Reinstall the application in the %programfiles% folder if the program is not already installed in the %programfiles% folder.
* Use an account that has administrative credentials to run this application. To do this, locate and then right-click the application shortcut, and then click Run as administrator.

User Account Control permission
If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, type your password, or click Continue.
* Run the application at an elevated command prompt. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start
Start button
, and then type cmd in the Start Search box, and then click cmd.exe in the Programs list.
2. In the Programs list, right-click cmd, and then click Run as administrator.
User Account Control permission
If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, type your password, or click Continue.
3. Type MyAppsPath/MyApp, and then press ENTER. MyAppsPath/MyApp represents the path and the name of the application.
* Change the security settings on the application's folder. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Log on as a user who has administrative credentials, and then use Windows Explorer to open the application's folder.
2. Right-click the application's folder, and then click Properties.
3. On the Security tab, click Edit.

User Account Control permission
If you are prompted for an administrator password or for confirmation, type your password, or click Continue.
4. Under Group or user names, click your user account.
5. Under Permissions for Users, click Allow for the following permissions:
  • Modify
  • Read & Execute
  • List Folder Contents
  • Read
  • Write
6. Click OK.

More related topic:
computer support services
computer repair services
0x80070005 - Access is denied