This Post provides How to repair operating system,how to restore the operating system configuration to an earlier point
This post discusses how to repair operating system and how to restore the operating system configuration to an earlier point in time in Windows Vista. It describes how to use the System File Checker tool to scan and replace system files in scenarios where you are troubleshooting an issue in Windows Vista. It also discusses how to use the System Restore tool to restore the operating system configuration to an earlier point in time.
INFORMATION
The System File Checker tool
To determine whether the issue that you are experiencing is caused by one or more system files that are used by Windows Vista, run the System File Checker tool. The System File Checker tool scans system files and replaces incorrect versions of the system files by using the correct versions.
To run the System File Checker tool, follow these steps:
1. Click Start , and then type cmd in the Start Search box.
2. Right-click cmd in the Programs list, and then click Run as administrator.
If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type your password or click Continue
3. At the command prompt, the following line, and then press ENTER:
sfc /scannow
When the scan is complete, test to see whether the issue that you are experiencing is resolved. If the issue that you are experiencing is not resolved, use the procedure that is described in the "The System Restore tool" section.
To restore the operating system to an earlier point in time, follow these steps:
1. Click Start , type system restore in the Start Search box, and then click System Restore in the Programs list.
If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type your password or click Continue.
2. In the System Restore dialog box, click Choose a different restore point, and then click Next.
3. In the list of restore points, click a restore point that was created before you began to experience the issue, and then click Next.
4. Click Finish.
The computer restarts, and the system files and settings are returned to the state that they were in at the time that the restore point was created.
Showing posts with label Operating System Support. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Operating System Support. Show all posts
Wednesday, June 10, 2009
Thursday, May 28, 2009
Fix 16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem Error Massage
This addition you get further information to troubleshoot error "16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem" error message when you run an MS-DOS or 16-Bit Windows program in Windows Server 2003 or Windows 2000 Server"
If you try to run an MS-DOS-based or a 16-bit Windows-based command on a Microsoft Windows Server 2003-based or a Microsoft Windows 2000 Server-based computer, you may receive one of the following error messages:
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to start or install
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\autoexec.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
This issue can occur if any one of the following files are missing, damaged, or not located in the %systemroot%\System32 folder:
Autoexec.nt
Command.com
Config.nt
This post provide step by step Computer repair and troubleshooting tips to fix this issue
Follow the Steps
1. Insert the Windows Server 2003 CD or the Windows 2000 Server CD into the CD drive.
2. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
3. Type the following commands, and press ENTER after each command:
expand D:\i386\config.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\config.nt
expand D:\i386\autoexec.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\autoexec.nt
expand D:\i386\command.co_ %systemroot%\system32\command.com
exit
Note The description of this procedure assumes that your CD drive letter is D. If your CD drive letter is not D, substitute the correct drive letter.
4. Start or install the program. If the issue is resolved, do not complete the remaining steps. If the issue is not resolved, go to the next step.
5. Start Notepad, and then type the following commands.
Note The Command.com file is not edited or created in the following process. Because of this, you may have to expand the file from your CD-ROM. See step 16 for instructions on how to do this.
dos=high, umb
device=%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\himem.sys
files=40
6. On the File menu, click Save As.
7. In the File Name box, type Config.nt, and then click Save. Close the Config.nt file.
8. On the File menu, click New.
9. In the new blank document, type the following entries.
@echo off
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\mscdexnt.exe
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\redir
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\dosx
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3
10. On the File menu, click Save As.
11. In the File Name box, type Autoexec.nt, and then click Save. Close the Autoexec.nt file.
12. Start Windows Explorer. Locate the Config.nt file, right-click the Config.nt file, and then click Copy.
13. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
14. Locate the Autoexec.nt file, right-click the Autoexec.nt file, and then click Copy.
15. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
16. Expand the Command.com file from the Windows Server 2003 or the Windows 2000 Server CD-ROM. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
2.
expand cd-rom:\i386\command.co_ drive_letter:\system_root\system32\command.com
exit
17. Verify the existence of the folder to which the TEMP and TMP user environment variables are mapped. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl in the Open box, and then click OK.
2. In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab, and then click Environment Variables.
3. In the User variables for UserName section, locate the TEMP and TMP variables. They are listed in the Variable column.
4. For the TEMP and TMP variables, note the corresponding folder that is listed in the Value column.
5. Start Windows Explorer. To do this, click Start, click Run, type explorer in the Open box, and then click OK.
6. Locate the folder that is specified for the TEMP and TMP variables. Make sure that this folder exists.
Note To locate the folder, you may have to turn on the feature that shows hidden files and folders. To do this, follow these steps:
1. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
2. Under Hidden files and folders, click Show hidden files and folders, and then click OK.
18. Restart your computer.
If you try to run an MS-DOS-based or a 16-bit Windows-based command on a Microsoft Windows Server 2003-based or a Microsoft Windows 2000 Server-based computer, you may receive one of the following error messages:
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to start or install
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
config.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\autoexec.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
This issue can occur if any one of the following files are missing, damaged, or not located in the %systemroot%\System32 folder:
Autoexec.nt
Command.com
Config.nt
This post provide step by step Computer repair and troubleshooting tips to fix this issue
Follow the Steps
1. Insert the Windows Server 2003 CD or the Windows 2000 Server CD into the CD drive.
2. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
3. Type the following commands, and press ENTER after each command:
expand D:\i386\config.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\config.nt
expand D:\i386\autoexec.nt_ %systemroot%\system32\autoexec.nt
expand D:\i386\command.co_ %systemroot%\system32\command.com
exit
Note The description of this procedure assumes that your CD drive letter is D. If your CD drive letter is not D, substitute the correct drive letter.
4. Start or install the program. If the issue is resolved, do not complete the remaining steps. If the issue is not resolved, go to the next step.
5. Start Notepad, and then type the following commands.
Note The Command.com file is not edited or created in the following process. Because of this, you may have to expand the file from your CD-ROM. See step 16 for instructions on how to do this.
dos=high, umb
device=%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\himem.sys
files=40
6. On the File menu, click Save As.
7. In the File Name box, type Config.nt, and then click Save. Close the Config.nt file.
8. On the File menu, click New.
9. In the new blank document, type the following entries.
@echo off
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\mscdexnt.exe
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\redir
lh %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\dosx
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3
10. On the File menu, click Save As.
11. In the File Name box, type Autoexec.nt, and then click Save. Close the Autoexec.nt file.
12. Start Windows Explorer. Locate the Config.nt file, right-click the Config.nt file, and then click Copy.
13. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
14. Locate the Autoexec.nt file, right-click the Autoexec.nt file, and then click Copy.
15. Right-click the %systemroot%\System32 folder, and then click Paste.
16. Expand the Command.com file from the Windows Server 2003 or the Windows 2000 Server CD-ROM. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
2.
expand cd-rom:\i386\command.co_ drive_letter:\system_root\system32\command.com
exit
17. Verify the existence of the folder to which the TEMP and TMP user environment variables are mapped. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl in the Open box, and then click OK.
2. In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab, and then click Environment Variables.
3. In the User variables for UserName section, locate the TEMP and TMP variables. They are listed in the Variable column.
4. For the TEMP and TMP variables, note the corresponding folder that is listed in the Value column.
5. Start Windows Explorer. To do this, click Start, click Run, type explorer in the Open box, and then click OK.
6. Locate the folder that is specified for the TEMP and TMP variables. Make sure that this folder exists.
Note To locate the folder, you may have to turn on the feature that shows hidden files and folders. To do this, follow these steps:
1. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
2. Under Hidden files and folders, click Show hidden files and folders, and then click OK.
18. Restart your computer.
Friday, March 27, 2009
How to Manage devices with Device Manager
Device Manager provides a graphical view of the hardware that is installed on the computer, as well as the device drivers and resources associated with that hardware. Using Device Manager provides a central point to change the way the hardware is configured and interacts with the computer's microprocessor.This post provide computer help for manege your device manager.
Using Device Manager to manage devices and their drivers require the following permissions, all of which are granted to Administrators:
* The Load\Unload Drivers privilege.
* The permissions needed to copy files to the system32\drivers directory.
* The permissions needed to write settings to the registry.
Device Manager allows the following functionality:
* Determine if the hardware on your computer is working properly.
* Change hardware configuration settings.
* Identify the device drivers that are loaded for each device and obtain information about each device driver.
* Change advanced settings and properties for devices.
* Install updated device drivers.
* Disable, enable, and uninstall devices.
* Reinstall the previous version of a driver.
* Identify device conflicts and manually configure resource settings.
* Print a summary of the devices that are installed on your computer.
Typically, Device Manager is used to check the status of computer hardware and update device drivers on the computer. If you are an advanced user, and you have a thorough understanding of computer hardware, you can use Device Manager's diagnostic features to resolve device conflicts, and change resource settings.
To access Device Manager, use any of the following methods:
* Click Start, click Run, and then type devmgmt.msc.
* Right-click My Computer, click Manage, and then click Device Manager.
* Right-click My Computer, click Properties, click the Hardware tab, and then click Device Manager.
* Type the following command at a command prompt:
start devmgmt.msc
If you want to access Device Manager on a local or remote computer:
1. Click Start, click Run, and then type mmc.
2. Click Add/Remove Snap In on the File menu (or press CTRL+M), click Add, and then click Device Manager.
When you use this procedure, a shortcut to Device Manager is created that you can use to open Device Manager.
Using Device Manager to manage devices and their drivers require the following permissions, all of which are granted to Administrators:
* The Load\Unload Drivers privilege.
* The permissions needed to copy files to the system32\drivers directory.
* The permissions needed to write settings to the registry.
Device Manager allows the following functionality:
* Determine if the hardware on your computer is working properly.
* Change hardware configuration settings.
* Identify the device drivers that are loaded for each device and obtain information about each device driver.
* Change advanced settings and properties for devices.
* Install updated device drivers.
* Disable, enable, and uninstall devices.
* Reinstall the previous version of a driver.
* Identify device conflicts and manually configure resource settings.
* Print a summary of the devices that are installed on your computer.
Typically, Device Manager is used to check the status of computer hardware and update device drivers on the computer. If you are an advanced user, and you have a thorough understanding of computer hardware, you can use Device Manager's diagnostic features to resolve device conflicts, and change resource settings.
To access Device Manager, use any of the following methods:
* Click Start, click Run, and then type devmgmt.msc.
* Right-click My Computer, click Manage, and then click Device Manager.
* Right-click My Computer, click Properties, click the Hardware tab, and then click Device Manager.
* Type the following command at a command prompt:
start devmgmt.msc
If you want to access Device Manager on a local or remote computer:
1. Click Start, click Run, and then type mmc.
2. Click Add/Remove Snap In on the File menu (or press CTRL+M), click Add, and then click Device Manager.
When you use this procedure, a shortcut to Device Manager is created that you can use to open Device Manager.
Tuesday, March 17, 2009
How to remove unsigned drivers
All the drivers that are included with Windows XP use digital signatures to verify that they have been tested by the Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). Many third-party programs are written for Windows XP must install additional drivers that have not been tested by WHQL. Therefore, they do not receive a digital signature.
Note Some third-party vendors have tools that they can use to generate a valid digital signature even if these products were not tested by WHQL. The following procedure cannot be used to determine whether these drivers are installed.
Windows XP includes the File Signature Verification tool (Sigverif.exe). You can use this tool to find all files on your computer that are not digitally signed. For the purposes of Windows XP clean-boot troubleshooting, you have to test only the files in the %Windir%\System32\Drivers folder.
To use the Sigverif.exe tool, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type sigverif in the Open box, and then click OK.
2. Click Advanced, click Look for other files that are not digitally signed, click Browse, locate the Windows\System32\Drivers folder, and then click OK two times.
3. Click Start.
After Sigverif.exe is completed, a list of all unsigned drivers that are installed on your computer appears. Above given tips if creating any problems to unsigned driver contact to operating system support technician
Note Some third-party vendors have tools that they can use to generate a valid digital signature even if these products were not tested by WHQL. The following procedure cannot be used to determine whether these drivers are installed.
Windows XP includes the File Signature Verification tool (Sigverif.exe). You can use this tool to find all files on your computer that are not digitally signed. For the purposes of Windows XP clean-boot troubleshooting, you have to test only the files in the %Windir%\System32\Drivers folder.
To use the Sigverif.exe tool, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type sigverif in the Open box, and then click OK.
2. Click Advanced, click Look for other files that are not digitally signed, click Browse, locate the Windows\System32\Drivers folder, and then click OK two times.
3. Click Start.
After Sigverif.exe is completed, a list of all unsigned drivers that are installed on your computer appears. Above given tips if creating any problems to unsigned driver contact to operating system support technician
Wednesday, March 4, 2009
How to delete the Recovery Console
This post provide technical support for remove recovery console from your computer.
To delete the Recovery Console:
1. Restart your computer, click Start, click My Computer, and then double-click the hard disk where you installed the Recovery Console.
2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
3. Click Show hidden files and folders, click to clear the Hide protected operating system files check box, and then click OK.
4. At the root folder, delete the Cmdcons folder and the Cmldr file.
5. At the root folder, right-click the Boot.ini file, and then click Properties.
6. Click to clear the Read-only check box, and then click OK.
Warning: Modifying the Boot.ini file incorrectly may prevent your computer from restarting. Make sure that you delete only the entry for the Recovery Console. Also, change the attribute for the Boot.ini file back to a read-only state after you finish this procedure. Open the Boot.ini file in Microsoft Windows Notepad, and remove the entry for the Recovery Console. It looks similar to this:
C:\cmdcons\bootsect.dat="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
7. Save the file and close it.
To delete the Recovery Console:
1. Restart your computer, click Start, click My Computer, and then double-click the hard disk where you installed the Recovery Console.
2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options, and then click the View tab.
3. Click Show hidden files and folders, click to clear the Hide protected operating system files check box, and then click OK.
4. At the root folder, delete the Cmdcons folder and the Cmldr file.
5. At the root folder, right-click the Boot.ini file, and then click Properties.
6. Click to clear the Read-only check box, and then click OK.
Warning: Modifying the Boot.ini file incorrectly may prevent your computer from restarting. Make sure that you delete only the entry for the Recovery Console. Also, change the attribute for the Boot.ini file back to a read-only state after you finish this procedure. Open the Boot.ini file in Microsoft Windows Notepad, and remove the entry for the Recovery Console. It looks similar to this:
C:\cmdcons\bootsect.dat="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
7. Save the file and close it.
Friday, December 19, 2008
How to Back Up the System State on a Domain Controller
This addition gets information about How to take back up of system state on a domain controller. Here some steps given below these provide help for computer repair and create back up of system state.
These steps are following:
1. Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Backup.
2. Click the Backup tab.
3. Click to select the System State check box. (All of the components to be backed up are listed in the right pane. You cannot individually select each item.)
NOTE: During the system state backup, you must select to back up the Winnt\Sysvol folder. You must also select this option during the restore operation to have a working sysvol after the recovery.
The following information applies only to domain controllers. You can restore member servers the same way, but in normal mode.
If any of the following conditions are not met, the system state is not restored. Backup attempts to restore the system state, but does not succeed.
• The drive letter on which the %SystemRoot% folder is located must be the same as when it was backed up.
• The %SystemRoot% folder must be the same folder as when it was backed up.
• If sysvol or other Active Directory databases were located on another volume, they must exist and have the same drive letters also. The size of the volume does not matter.
These steps are following:
1. Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click Backup.
2. Click the Backup tab.
3. Click to select the System State check box. (All of the components to be backed up are listed in the right pane. You cannot individually select each item.)
NOTE: During the system state backup, you must select to back up the Winnt\Sysvol folder. You must also select this option during the restore operation to have a working sysvol after the recovery.
The following information applies only to domain controllers. You can restore member servers the same way, but in normal mode.
If any of the following conditions are not met, the system state is not restored. Backup attempts to restore the system state, but does not succeed.
• The drive letter on which the %SystemRoot% folder is located must be the same as when it was backed up.
• The %SystemRoot% folder must be the same folder as when it was backed up.
• If sysvol or other Active Directory databases were located on another volume, they must exist and have the same drive letters also. The size of the volume does not matter.

